Post Tagged with: "immigrant"

Girl on a Mission

Somali-American Writer Documents Her Journey Of Resilience From Rural Ethiopia To Icy Michigan In New Memoir

Somali-American Writer Documents Her Journey Of Resilience From Rural Ethiopia To Icy Michigan In New Memoir

In her powerful memoir, ‘Warda: My Journey from the Horn of Africa to a College Education’, Somali-American writer Warda Mohamed Abdullahi not only tells the story of her own resilience […]

Entertainment

Image by Giovanna Frasco

Acclaimed UK Percussionist Sukhmani Blends Indian Musical Rhythms With Dreamy Pop Vocals In Debut EP

Pulling influence from her eclectic background, Sukhmani taps into the whimsical world of self-reflection on her debut EP ‘Here’, released on April 1. Digging into those phases of self-exploration and […]

Interviews

Author Takes Us On A Journey Through Her South Asian Heritage & Fave Cuisine In New Book ‘Khabaar’

Author Takes Us On A Journey Through Her South Asian Heritage & Fave Cuisine In New Book ‘Khabaar’

In 2020, scientist and writer Madushree Ghosh, wrote an essay for Longreads about her family’s South Asian cultural heritage, honoring her late parents’ through vivid memories of her immigrant family’s […]

Interviews

Author Lyn Liao Butler Brings A Multicultural Tale About Family & Heritage In “Red Thread of Fate”

Author Lyn Liao Butler Brings A Multicultural Tale About Family & Heritage In “Red Thread of Fate”

For fans of Amy Tan, Celeste Ng, and Liane Moriarty comes a new book from Taiwanese author Lyn Liao Butler (“The Tiger Mom’s Tale”), who returns for a multicultural tale of […]

Entertainment

Indian Comedian Zarna “Auntie Z” Garg Takes TikTok By Storm With Her Immigrant Story

Indian Comedian Zarna “Auntie Z” Garg Takes TikTok By Storm With Her Immigrant Story

She’s the comedian taking TikTok by storm, and not with a viral dance, like other famous TikTok-ers. Indian-American comedian Zarna Garg is bringing her brand of funny to the video […]

Contributors

Writer Reflects On Her Mother’s Mexican Immigrant Experience & The Call To California.

Writer Reflects On Her Mother’s Mexican Immigrant Experience & The Call To California.

By Linda Feyder I am a second-generation Mexican-American on my maternal side. Like so many of us today, my genealogy reads like a complicated recipe.  A little of this, a little […]

Contributors

“I Slapt His Face In Public”: How One Woman Spoke Out Against Harassment In The Past

“I Slapt His Face In Public”: How One Woman Spoke Out Against Harassment In The Past

By Kate Stewart When I began to research Ruth Rappaport’s life, I knew that I would find stories about how she had survived World War II, the 1948 War for […]

Interviews

Meet The Skincare Entrepreneur Whose Immigrant Roots Pushed Her To Seek Leadership Without Fear

Meet The Skincare Entrepreneur Whose Immigrant Roots Pushed Her To Seek Leadership Without Fear

When it comes to entrepreneurship, and celebrating the success of a growing business, we reserve a special amount of celebration for women and mothers, because we know the business world […]

Contributors

Immigrant And Author Chaithanya Sohan Talks Love And Loss In New Book ‘America Deconstructed’

Immigrant And Author Chaithanya Sohan Talks Love And Loss In New Book ‘America Deconstructed’

By Chaithanya Sohan I sat in my hotel room waiting to see him. It has been over seventeen years since I had seen my first love. The moment seemed too […]

Interviews

Meet Jessica Nguyen – Fmr Single Mom & Immigrant Now Launching A Business In A Male-Dominated Industry

Meet Jessica Nguyen – Fmr Single Mom & Immigrant Now Launching A Business In A Male-Dominated Industry

The biggest reason we exist as a platform is to be a space for women to share their voices and stories. We fully believe that if more women’s stories were […]

Contributors

These 7 Immigrant Authors Are Making American Literature Great Again

These 7 Immigrant Authors Are Making American Literature Great Again

By Kevin Nelson The USA Today officially states that “The number of undocumented immigrants living in the United States stayed steady for an eighth straight year in 2016 with 11.3 […]

Contributors

How A Female Immigrant Business Owner Is Working To Break The Fashion-Tech Barrier

How A Female Immigrant Business Owner Is Working To Break The Fashion-Tech Barrier

By Angela Pan I still remember the day when a well-respected man in the technology investment field told me female entrepreneurs would never succeed. Today, I stand as founder and […]