Post Tagged with: "adoption"

Contributors

I Wrote A Memoir About Giving My Baby Up For Adoption At A Home For Unwed Mothers In The ’60s

I Wrote A Memoir About Giving My Baby Up For Adoption At A Home For Unwed Mothers In The ’60s

By Laura L. Engel It was 1967, the Summer of Love, and I was a typical senior in high school, living on the Mississippi Gulf Coast. My life was simple, […]

Creativity

Award-Winning Author’s Novel Shines Light On Traumatic History Of Maternity Homes For Unwed Mothers

Award-Winning Author’s Novel Shines Light On Traumatic History Of Maternity Homes For Unwed Mothers

By Julia Brewer Daily From the 1930s to the 1980s, pregnant unwed women were shamed by their parents and society into making emotionally devastating decisions. Women did not have birth […]

Interviews

Author Lyn Liao Butler Brings A Multicultural Tale About Family & Heritage In “Red Thread of Fate”

Author Lyn Liao Butler Brings A Multicultural Tale About Family & Heritage In “Red Thread of Fate”

For fans of Amy Tan, Celeste Ng, and Liane Moriarty comes a new book from Taiwanese author Lyn Liao Butler (“The Tiger Mom’s Tale”), who returns for a multicultural tale of […]

Family Life

I’m Single But I Want to Start A Family: What Are My Options?

I’m Single But I Want to Start A Family: What Are My Options?

You love being single, but also want to start a family. Is that even possible? Sure it is! Heterosexual couples once had it easier when it comes to starting a […]

Family Life

The Most Common Reasons People Choose Pregnancy Options Over Adoption

The Most Common Reasons People Choose Pregnancy Options Over Adoption

By Aaron Smith In America and all over the world, there are plenty of babies and children who have been put up for adoption or have been waiting for a […]

Contributors

Novel ‘The Trumpet Lesson’ Explores How Societal Attitudes About Teen Pregnancy, Race, & Adoption Affect Personal Integrity

Novel ‘The Trumpet Lesson’ Explores How Societal Attitudes About Teen Pregnancy, Race, & Adoption Affect Personal Integrity

By Dianne Romain People often ask if I have personal experience that inspired me to write ‘The Trumpet Lesson’. In a sense, yes, but not because I, myself, relinquished a […]

Today's Wonder Women

Mia Ives-Rublee | Image: Kisha Bari

Activist Mia Ives-Rublee On Being A Leader In The Movement For Disability Rights

This article is part of an exciting series we launched in 2018 called Today’s Wonder Women – designed to celebrate the inspiring, impactful, empowering and extraordinary things ordinary women are […]

Contributors

Author’s Compelling Memoir Shares Her Journey Finding Her Biological Family & Uncovering Hidden Secrets.

Author’s Compelling Memoir Shares Her Journey Finding Her Biological Family & Uncovering Hidden Secrets.

By Diane Dewey What do you say to a father who you’ve just met when you’re forty-seven years old? When I landed that day in March 2003 at Zurich’s International […]

Contributors, Creativity

Judge & Author Marylin Atkins Writes About Her Family’s Legacy Of Colorblind Love In An Unwelcoming World

Judge & Author Marylin Atkins Writes About Her Family’s Legacy Of Colorblind Love In An Unwelcoming World

When we heard the story of Judge Marylin Atkins, who is set to release her memoir ‘The Triumph of Rosemary’ out now (through Two Sisters Publishing), we immediately jumped at […]

Contributors

The Need For More Dialog About Barriers LGBTQ Couples Face When Trying To Conceive

The Need For More Dialog About Barriers LGBTQ Couples Face When Trying To Conceive

By Chelsy Ranard It wasn’t that long ago that same-sex marriage became federally legalized in the United States – just two years ago, gay and lesbian couples could be legally […]

Working Women

American Express Steps Up The Fight For Paid Family Leave, Offering Wide Range Of Benefits

American Express Steps Up The Fight For Paid Family Leave, Offering Wide Range Of Benefits

Beginning in January, employees of American Express will have access to an increased range of benefits which include paid family leave and financial support toward adoption, surrogacy and IVF. Before […]

Contributors

What Do Adoption, Ovarian Cancer & Jay Z Have In Common? Author Megan Silianoff Can Explain

What Do Adoption, Ovarian Cancer & Jay Z Have In Common? Author Megan Silianoff Can Explain

My name is Megan Silianoff.  I live in Houston, Texas where I run my boutique PR Firm and write a lifestyle blog called Greetings from Texas  I have a 2.5 year old, Macy, […]